Scheer PAS Model Driven Integration

The innovative Low-Code integration platform

Do your IT systems work perfectly together?

If not, significant potential for optimization is available to your company. This is because intelligently linked IT systems are more transparent and they can be adapted much more quickly and with greater flexibility. At the same time vulnerability to failure and down time is reduced.

The smart networking of all systems, processes and also people within a company is one of the key factors for success in this age of digitization.

We are the team of experts you need when dealing with model driven IT integration. For over 20 years we have been working on complex integration projects and, thanks to the low-code approach we adopt, provide agility, speed and transparency to our customers in over 50 countries.

transparency

Transparency – the model driven approach from Scheer PAS delivers unique transparency over your processes, systems and data. The foundation for this lies in our use of the graphic modelling languages UML and BPMN. The models function as a common language, understood quickly and without problem by all those involved in your company.

fast-forward

Speed – the adapters we use run natively and therefore with high levels of performance. Every web-service communication and associated processing is compatible with practically every other protocol supported. As the micro-services are executed in our own process room down times are reduced significantly. In this way we achieve high levels of stability for the entire solution and avoid a “single point of failure”.

secure-shield

Stability – the system is mature and proven in many implementations in practice. Model-driven system integration offers many security features. For example, the transaction sequencing logic is mapped in UML state machines. Furthermore, a “history state” can preserve the entire history of condition changes and, in case of failure, this can be accessed again via a retry signal. Processing can start again at exactly the same point at which the error had previously occurred. Furthermore, each micro-process runs as an independent operating system process. The increase in requirement for resources as complexity increases is therefore linear. In comparison with a traditional information infrastructure only a fraction of the server resources are required. This way you not only achieve improved system stability but also greater cost predictability.

move

Agility – comes from the low-code approach we adopt and the use of a micro-service application architecture. You will no longer have any down time when new or changed services are launched. The requirement for regression tests is minimal and furthermore you can execute most changes yourself at any time.

What is system integration?

Integration is the connection of an individual element into the larger whole. In cases of system integration (also known as IT integration) a subsystem, or module, is integrated into the larger system. A decisive factor in integration is that the systems are connection with each other and into each other.

The challenges in system integration are to be found in the planning, conception, integration and launching of complex IT system solutions. The implementation follows mostly be means of an integration platform, or middleware.

Why is the integration of IT systems important?

Many companies can hardly maintain an overview of the ever increasing numbers of software and applications. Upwards of a certain size, IT landscapes in which individual systems are connected via multiple and different interfaces begin to show problems in relation to transparency and the connection of new systems becomes mostly difficult and slow. In addition, with the addition of every new system, the instability of the entire IT landscape increases.

If a centralized integration layer is implemented which functions as a connecting arm between the system, such problems can be solved.

What is middleware?

The term middleware describes the integration layer which enables the differing distributed IT systems and applications to work together. The middleware assumes the role of a translator which regulates the exchange of data between differing systems and applications. Like any good translator the integration platform disregards the differences between the various languages, or in this case the formats and protocols. The complexity is encapsulated and therefore hidden.

The following example from the retail sector illustrates the procedure described: The middleware enables the transfer of customer orders from a Magento online shop to an SAP system. The benefit: Magento does not have to map the data formats and transfer protocols of the SAP system. The middleware takes the new order via a SOAP interface from the online shop, transforms it and executes the secure transfer of the information as an iDoc to SAP. It doesn’t matter at all if the SAP system is temporarily offline. If the customer returns the goods to one of the branches the middleware ensures that the returned goods can be registered by the till software and the stockholding is very quickly updated to include the item for sale again online.

Typically, middleware is based on an integration infrastructure such as an Enterprise Service Bus (ESB). Based on this infrastructure iterative integration solutions can be built. The middleware is comprised of these solutions in their entirety.

When does middleware make sense?

Putting in middleware is similar to kitting out a conference room. For small groups as a rule it will be sufficient to have one multi-plug extension lead and a LAN hub. Meetings with two or three people can be productive with this level of equipment. Should additional participants be included then it quickly becomes more probable that further equipment will need to be organized (hub, adapter, cables etc.) and installed. This takes up time actually intended for the conducting of the meeting agenda. With 20 participants our room is no longer suitable for our requirements, cabling the participants takes a disproportionate amount of time and the work for which the participants have come together begins only after a long delay. If this happens regularly then one would be well advised to invest in appropriate infrastructure.

It is the same with middleware. It makes sense in particular if the amount of different distributed software and applications reaches a critical mass. If you only ever connect the same two or three systems with the same technology, such as SOAP or SQL, then you can probably function productively without middleware. If, however, you are using ever more systems and need to connect these with different interfaces such as SOAP, SQL, REST or iDoc then investing in middleware makes sense. As long as it has been successfully integrated it masks the complexity of your IT landscape and makes the quick integration of new systems and business processes possible.

Which scenarios justify the procurement of middleware?

There are three general dimensions which can be used to define your scenarios.

 

Endpoints – Which protocols do I have?


The systems you need to integrate run on-premise, in the cloud, on mobile end-devices or on smart devices. Typically in each case differing communication protocols will apply. SQL, iDOc, EDI and FTP run on-premise. In the cloud you will find SOAP, REST or ODATA and AMPQ for your smart devices. If middleware is now used, the complexity of your protocols is hidden. The systems to be integrated can simply be connected with your protocol in the middleware.

Deployment – Which network topology do I have?


If the systems you need integrating are distributed across a complex network – on-premise, cloud or mobile devices – the middleware creates transparency. It provides connectors that allow a “local” connection for your systems. The result is that aspects such as firewalls and DMZ are no concern for these systems.

The middleware must naturally be operated somewhere. Ideally, your integration platform should be located close to your systems. Appropriate solutions therefore are on-premise installations, operation in the cloud as IPaaS, embedded solutions or a mix of these models.

 

Integration patterns – what do I want to integrate?


Here we differentiate roughly between four variants: data integration, process integration, application integration and B2B scenarios.

Data integration is about the synchronization of data across multiple distributed systems. For example product master data between ERP and online shop or ETL scenarios with corresponding monitoring.

Process integration is about the integration of a customer order across the distributed systems: online shop, ERP. Logistics, payment, CRM and the monitoring of the overarching process.

Application integration is about the seamless integration of distributed applications. For example the provision of on-premise ERP functionality or data on demand for a tablet app used by technical field staff.

B2B scenarios such as the integration of systems of record with those from B2B partners by means of electronic data transfer (EDI).

Each of these scenarios carries within it differing challenges and each challenge justifies the use of middleware. Should you even have a crossover at multiple points with your scenarios then middleware is a worthwhile investment for your company.

Scheer PAS Model Driven Integration

Die innovative Low-Code Integrationsplattform

Arbeiten Ihre IT-Systeme optimal zusammen?

Falls nicht, bieten sich Ihrem Unternehmen erhebliche Optimierungspotenziale. Denn intelligent verzahnte IT-Systeme sind transparenter und lassen sich deutlich flexibler und schneller anpassen. Gleichzeitig sinken Störungsanfälligkeit und Ausfallzeiten.

Die smarte Vernetzung aller Systeme, Prozesse und auch Menschen innerhalb eines Unternehmens gilt in Zeiten der Digitalisierung als zentraler Erfolgsfaktor.

Wir sind das Expertenteam, wenn es um modellgetriebene IT-Integration geht. Seit mehr als 20 Jahren lösen wir komplexe Integrationsaufgaben und sorgen dank des Low-Code Ansatzes für Agilität, Geschwindigkeit und Transparenz bei unseren Kunden in über 50 Ländern.

transparency

Transparenz – Der modellgetriebene Ansatz von Scheer PAS liefert eine einzigartige Transparenz über Ihre Prozesse, Systeme und Daten. Die Grundlage hierfür liegt in der Verwendung der grafischen Modellierungs-sprachen UML und BPMN. Die Modelle fungieren hierbei als eine gemeinsame Sprache, die alle Beteiligten in Ihrem Unternehmen problemlos und schnell verstehen.

fast-forward

Geschwindigkeit – Bei uns laufen die verwendeten Adapter nativ und damit hoch performant. Sämtliche Webservice-Kommunikation und Verarbeitung ist kompatibel zu praktisch allen anderen unterstützten Protokollen. Da die Micro-Services in einem eigenen Prozessraum ausgeführt werden, lassen sich Ausfallzeiten stark reduzieren. Dadurch wird eine hohe Stabilität der Gesamtlösung und eine Vermeidung des „Single Point of Failure“ erreicht.

secure-shield

Stabilität – Das System ist ausgereift und vielfach in der Praxis erprobt. Die modellgetriebene Systemintegration bietet vielfältige Sicherheitsfeatures. So wird z. B. die Ablauflogik von Transaktionen in UML State Machines abgebildet. Weiterhin kann ein „History State“ die gesamte Historie der Zustands-änderungen persistieren, die im Fehlerfall über ein Retry-Signal wieder aufgegriffen werden können.
Die Verarbeitung kann dann wieder genau an der Stelle aufgenommen werden, an der zuvor der Fehler aufgetreten ist. Darüber hinaus läuft jeder Micro Prozess als eigenständiger Betriebssystem-Prozess. Der Ressourcenbedarf einer Integrationslösung steigt damit nur linear mit der Komplexität. Im Vergleich zu einer klassischen Informationsinfrastruktur, wird nur ein Bruchteil der Server Ressourcen benötigt. Damit bietet sich Ihnen nicht nur eine verbesserte Stabilität Ihrer Systeme, sondern auch eine hohe Planbarkeit der Kosten.

move

Agilität – Durch den Low-Code Ansatz und die Verwendung einer Micro Service Anwendungsarchitektur. Sie haben keine Ausfallzeiten mehr bei der Inbetriebnahme neuer oder geänderter Services. Die Anforderungen an Regressionstests sind minimal. Darüber hinaus können Sie die meisten Änderungen jederzeit eigenständig durchführen.

Was ist Systemintegration?

Integration ist die Einbindung eines einzelnen Elements in das größere Ganze. Im Falle der Systemintegration (auch IT-Integration genannt) wird also ein Teilsystem oder Modul in das große System eingegliedert. Entscheidend bei der Integration ist, dass die Systeme dabei mit- und ineinander verbunden werden.

Die Herausforderungen der Systemintegration bestehen in der Planung, Konzipierung, Integration und Inbetriebnahme komplexer IT-Systemlösungen. Die Umsetzung erfolgt meist mittels einer Integrationsplattform bzw. Middleware.

Warum ist die Integration von IT-Systemen wichtig?

Viele Unternehmen können die stetig steigende Zahl an Software und Anwendungen kaum noch überblicken. IT-Landschaften bei denen die einzelnen Systeme mit einer Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Schnittstellen verbunden sind, zeigen ab einer gewissen Größe nicht nur Probleme im Hinblick auf die Transparenz auch die Anbindung neuer Systeme gestaltet sich meist schwierig und langwierig. Des Weiteren steigt mit jedem angebundenen System die Instabilität der gesamten IT-Landschaft.

Wird eine zentrale Integrationsschicht implementiert, die als Bindeglied zwischen den Systemen fungiert, lassen sich derartige Probleme beheben.

Was ist Middleware?

Der Begriff Middleware bezeichnet die Integrationsschicht, die die Zusammenarbeit von unterschiedlichen, verteilten IT-Systemen und Anwendungen ermöglicht. Die Middleware übernimmt hierbei die Rolle eines Übersetzers, der den Datenaustausch zwischen verschiedenen Systemen und Anwendungen regelt. Wie jeder gute Übersetzer lässt auch die Integrationsplattform Unterschiede zwischen den verschiedenen Sprachen beziehungsweise Formaten und Protokollen außen vor. Die Komplexität wird stattdessen gekapselt und somit versteckt.

Das folgende Beispiel aus dem Handel verdeutlicht das beschriebene Vorgehen. Die Middleware ermöglicht es, Kundenbestellungen aus einem Magento Online-Shop an ein SAP System zu übermitteln. Der Vorteil: Magento muss die Datenformate und Übertragungsprotokolle des SAP Systems nicht abbilden. So nimmt die Middleware die neue Bestellung via SOAP-Schnittstelle aus dem Online-Shop an, transformiert diese und übergibt die Informationen gesichert, als iDoc an SAP. Hierbei spielt es keine Rolle, ob das SAP System temporär offline ist. Wenn der Kunde die gelieferte Ware in der Filiale zurückgibt, sorgt die Middleware dafür, dass die Retoure aus der Kassensoftware ausgelesen wird und der verfügbare Bestand im Online-Verkauf umgehend angepasst wird.

Typischerweise basiert die Middleware auf einer Integrations-Infrastruktur, wie zum Beispiel einem Enterprise Service Bus (ESB). Auf Basis dieser Infrastruktur können iterativ Integrations-Lösungen gebaut werden. Diese Lösungen stellen in ihrer Gesamtheit dann die Middleware dar.

Wann ist Middleware sinnvoll?

Bei einer Middleware verhält es sich ähnlich wie bei der Ausstattung eines Konferenzraumes. Für kleine Gruppen reicht es in der Regel aus, wenn der Raum mit einer Verteilersteckdose und einem LAN Hub ausgestattet ist. Trifft man sich nun zu zweit oder zu dritt, ist man mit dieser Ausstattung produktiv. Mit der Anzahl weiterer Teilnehmer steigt dann aber schnell die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass weiteres Equipment (Hub, Adapter, Kabel) organisiert und installiert werden muss. Wodurch Zeit eingebüßt wird, die man eigentlich für die Agenda des Meetings vorgesehen hatte. Bei Konferenzen mit 20 Teilnehmern wird unser Raum den Anforderungen dann nicht mehr gerecht, die „Verkabelung“ der Teilnehmer nimmt  überproportional viel Zeit in Anspruch und mit der eigentlichen Arbeit, für die man sich getroffen hatte, kann erst mit massiver Verspätung begonnen werden. Wenn man diesen Fall regelmäßig hat, ist man gut beraten, in einen Konferenzraum mit entsprechender Infrastruktur zu investieren.

Und so verhält es sich auch mit Middleware. Diese ist insbesondere dann wirklich sinnvoll, wenn die Anzahl der verteilten Software und Anwendungen eine kritische Größe erreicht. Verbinden Sie immer nur die gleichen zwei, drei Systeme mit den gleichen Technologien, wie zum Beispiel SOAP oder SQL, können Sie wahrscheinlich auch ohne Middleware produktiv sein. Wenn Sie nun aber immer mehr Systeme verwenden und diese mit wechselnden Schnittstellen wie zum Beispiel SOAP, SQL, REST oder iDoc verbinden müssen, ist die Investition in eine Middleware lohnenswert. Sofern die Middleware erfolgreich integriert ist, maskiert sie die Komplexität Ihrer IT-Landschaft und ermöglicht Ihnen die schnelle Integration neuer Systeme und Business-Prozesse.

Welche Szenarien rechtfertigen eine Anschaffung?

Es gibt drei allgemeine Dimensionen, an denen sich Ihre Szenarien festmachen lassen.

 

Endpoints – Welche Protokolle habe ich?


Ihre zu integrierenden Systeme laufen on-premise, in der Cloud, auf mobilen Endgeräten oder auf Smart Devices. Typischerweise sind jeweils unterschiedliche Kommunikationsprotokolle vorherrschend. So laufen SQL, iDoc, EDI und FTP on-premise. In der Cloud nutzen Sie SOAP, REST oder ODATA und Ihre Smart Devices AMQP. Setzen wir nun eine Middleware ein, wird die Komplexität Ihrer Protokolle versteckt. Die zu integrierenden Systeme können einfach mit Ihrem Protokoll in der Middleware eingebunden werden.

 

Deployment – Welche Netzwerk-Topologie habe ich?


Wenn Ihre zu integrierenden Systeme über ein komplexes Netzwerk, sprich on-premise, Cloud oder Mobile Devices, verteilt sind, schafft die Middleware Transparenz. Sie stellt Konnektoren bereit, die Ihren Systemen eine „lokale“ Verbindung erlauben. Daraus resultiert, dass diese Systeme sich nicht um Aspekte wie Firewalls und DMZ sorgen müssen.

Natürlich muss die Middleware auch irgendwo betrieben werden. Idealerweise sollte sich Ihre Integrationsplattform in der Nähe Ihrer Systeme befinden. So bieten sich eine On-Premise Installation, Betrieb in der Cloud als IPaaS, embedded Lösungen oder eine Mischung dieser Modelle an.

 

Integration Patterns – was will ich womit, warum integrieren?


Hier wird grob zwischen vier verschiedenen Varianten unterschieden: Datenintegration, Prozessintegration, Anwendungsintegration sowie B2B Szenarien.

Datenintegration behandelt die Synchronisation von Daten über mehrere verteilte Systeme. Zum Beispiel Produktstammdaten zwischen ERP und Online-Shop oder ETL Szenarien mit dem entsprechenden Monitoring.

Prozessintegration behandelt die Integration einer Kundenbestellung über die verteilten Systeme Online-Shop, ERP, Logistik, Payment, CRM und ein Monitoring des übergreifenden Prozesses.

Anwendungsintegration behandelt die nahtlose Integration von verteilten Anwendungen. Zum Beispiel die Bereitstellung von on-premise ERP-Funktionalität oder Daten on demand für eine Tablet-App im technischen Außendienst.

B2B Szenarien wie zum Beispiel die Integration von Systems of Record mit denen von B2B Partnern mittels elektronischen Datentransfer (EDI).

Jedes dieser Szenarien birgt unterschiedliche Herausforderungen, jede davon rechtfertigt den Einsatz einer Middleware. Sollten Sie sogar an mehreren Stellen Überschneidungen mit Ihren Szenarien haben, ist die Middleware eine lohnende Investition für Ihr Unternehmen.